Trespass and Vandalism-Rhode Island Criminal Laws

CHAPTER 11-44

Trespass and Vandalism

Index Of Sections

Legal Notice per RI Rules of Professional Responsibility:

The Rhode Island Supreme Court licenses all lawyers and attorneys in the general practice of law, but does not license or certify any lawyer/ attorney as an expert or specialist in any field of practice.

Assaults in Rhode Island -Index of RI Law Sections

CHAPTER 11-5
Assaults

Index Of Sections

Legal Notice per RI Rules of Professional Responsibility:

The Rhode Island Supreme Court licenses all lawyers and attorneys in the general practice of law, but does not license or certify any lawyer/ attorney as an expert or specialist in any field of practice.

Arson – Second degree | Rhode Island Criminal law

Arson and Fires

SECTION 11-4-3

§ 11-4-3  Arson – Second degree. – Any person who knowingly causes, aids, procures or counsels by means of fire or explosion the damage or destruction of any unoccupied building, structure or facility the property of that person or another shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to imprisonment for not less than two (2) years nor more than twenty (20) years, or shall be fined not more than two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500), or both; provided, that if death occurs to a person as a direct result of the fire or explosion or to a person who is directly involved in fighting the fire or explosion, imprisonment shall be for not less than twenty (20) years.

Legal Notice per RI Rules of Professional Responsibility:

The Rhode Island Supreme Court licenses all lawyers and attorneys in the general practice of law, but does not license or certify any lawyer/ attorney as an expert or specialist in any field of practice.

§ 11-4-2 Arson – First degree- Rhode Island Criminal Law

Criminal Offenses

Arson and Fires

SECTION 11-4-2

§ 11-4-2  Arson – First degree. – Any person who knowingly causes, procures, aids, counsels or creates by means of fire or explosion a substantial risk of serious physical harm to any person or damage to any building the property of that person or another, whether or not used for residential purposes, which is occupied or in use for any purpose or which has been occupied or in use for any purpose during the six (6) months preceding the offense or to any other residential structure, shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to imprisonment for not less than five (5) years and may be imprisoned for life, or shall be fined not less than three thousand dollars ($3,000) nor more than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000), or both; provided, further, that whenever a death occurs to a person as a direct result of the fire or explosion or to a person who is directly involved in fighting the fire or explosion, imprisonment shall be for not less than twenty (20) years. In all such cases, the justice may only impose a sentence less than the minimum if he or she finds that substantial and compelling circumstances exist which justify imposition of the alternative sentence. That finding may be based upon the character and background of the defendant, the cooperation of the defendant with law enforcement authorities, the nature and circumstances of the offense, and/or the nature and quality of the evidence presented at trial. If a sentence which is less than imprisonment for the minimum term is imposed, the trial justice shall set forth on the record the circumstances which he or she found as justification for imposition of the lesser sentence.

Legal Notice per RI Rules of Professional Responsibility:

The Rhode Island Supreme Court licenses all lawyers and attorneys in the general practice of law, but does not license or certify any lawyer/ attorney as an expert or specialist in any field of practice.

Arson and Fires-Index of Sections- RI Laws

CHAPTER 11-4

Arson and Fires

Index Of Sections

  • § 11-4-1  [Repealed.].
  • § 11-4-2  Arson – First degree.
  • § 11-4-2.1  Arson – Custody.
  • § 11-4-3  Arson – Second degree.
  • § 11-4-4  Arson – Third degree.
  • § 11-4-5  Arson – Fourth degree.
  • § 11-4-6  Arson – Fifth degree.
  • § 11-4-7  Arson – Sixth degree.
  • § 11-4-8  Arson – Seventh degree.
  • § 11-4-9  [Repealed.].
  • § 11-4-10  Interference with fire alarm apparatus – Penalty.
  • RI Law Articles

    Rhode Island Personal Injury Lawyers

    RI Criminal Defense Attorney

    Legal Notice per RI Rules of Professional Responsibility:

    The Rhode Island Supreme Court licenses all lawyers and attorneys in the general practice of law, but does not license or certify any lawyer/ attorney as an expert or specialist in any field of practice.

    Abandonment and Nonsupport- RI Criminal Law

  • § 11-2-1  Abandonment or nonsupport of spouse or children. § 11-2-1  Abandonment or nonsupport of spouse or children. – Every person who shall abandon his or her spouse or children, leaving them in danger of becoming a public charge, or who shall neglect to provide according to his or her means for the support of his or her spouse or children, or who shall neglect or refuse to aid in the support of his or her spouse and/or children, except as otherwise provided for in § 11-2-1.1, shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by imprisonment for not more than six (6) months.
  • [See § 12-1-15 of the General Laws.]

  • § 11-2-1.1  Failure to pay child support. § 11-2-1.1  Failure to pay child support. – (a) Every person who is obligated to pay child support pursuant to an order or decree established by or registered with the family court pursuant to chapter 11 of title 15, who has incurred arrearage of past-due child support in the amount of ten thousand dollars ($10,000), and who shall willfully thereafter, having the means to do so, fail to pay three (3) or more installments of child support in an amount previously set by the court, according to the terms previously set by the court, shall be guilty of a felony for each instance of failure to make the subsequent payments and upon conviction shall be punished by imprisonment for a period not to exceed five (5) years.   (b) Every person who has for a period of three (3) years willfully failed to pay any installments of child support in an amount previously set by the court, according to the terms previously set by the court, and who shall thereafter, having the means to do so, fail to pay three (3) or more installments of child support in an amount previously set by the court, according to the terms previously set by the court, shall be guilty of a felony for each instance of failure to make the subsequent payments and upon conviction shall be punished by imprisonment for a period not to exceed five (5) years.   (c) For purposes of this section, “subsequent payments” means those payments or installments due and owing after a person has incurred an arrearage of ten thousand dollars ($10,000) as specified in subsection (a) of this section or those payments or installments due and owing after a person has failed to pay an installment for a period of three (3) years.   (d) The court may in its discretion direct that the sentence be served pursuant to § 12-19-2(b).[See § 12-1-15 of the General Laws.]
  • § 11-2-2  Desertion by leaving state – Decree as evidence. § 11-2-2  Desertion by leaving state – Decree as evidence. – Any husband or father who without just cause deserts his wife or minor child by going into another state, and leaves them or any or either of them without making reasonable provisions for their support, shall be punished by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by imprisonment for not more than five (5) years, or both. No civil proceeding in any court shall be held to be a bar to a prosecution pursuant to this section for desertion or nonsupport. In a prosecution pursuant to this section for desertion or nonsupport against a husband, a decree or judgment of any court in a proceeding in which the husband appeared or was personally served with process, establishing the right of the wife to live apart, or her freedom to convey and deal with her property, or the right to the custody of the children, shall be admissible and shall be prima facie evidence of that right.
  • § 11-2-3  Complaints for nonsupport – Liability for costs. § 11-2-3  Complaints for nonsupport – Liability for costs. – (a) The director of the department of human services or his or her designee, or chief of police, or director of public welfare of any city or town, or any officer that the town council of any town or the city council of any city may appoint for the purpose, may make a complaint against any person for any of the offenses mentioned in § 11-2-1; and whenever any complaint shall be made by any of the officers listed in this subsection on account of the violation of § 11-2-1, the officer complainant shall not be required to give surety for costs, but shall give his or her personal recognizance and be liable in his or her individual capacity.   (b) Pursuant to § 11-2-1.1, the department of human services, after an investigation to determine the extent of an arrearage and the ability of the obligor to pay the arrearage or some portion of it may refer the case to the attorney general for prosecution in the family court for the county in which the obligor resides, unless the person does not reside within the state, then the prosecution may be brought in the family court for Providence County.   [See § 12-1-15 of the General Laws.]
  • Legal Notice per RI Rules of Professional Responsibility:

    The Rhode Island Supreme Court licenses all lawyers and attorneys in the general practice of law, but does not license or certify any lawyer/ attorney as an expert or specialist in any field of practice.

    Rhode Island Criminal Law News

    17 arrested in child porn raids

    Craigslist suspect wrote name in Mass. cell

    RI Police Digest: 2 Cranston men face narcotics charges

    Woman cited in car/dog accident

    Career thug and cop-killer held without bail in Rhode Island

    Forfeiture statute aids RI agencies, police in War on Drugs

    Woman cited in car/dog accident

    Mission of Rhode Island task force is to improve eyewitness reports

    ‎Convicted RI killer paroled to Florida

    McKenna envisions wider focus for AG

    Physicians Risk Lawsuits, Prison for Using Unapproved IUDs

    Teens take police on high-speed car chase before fleeing into the

    Victims’ fund gets infusion of cash

    New North Providence Corruption Indictment Expands Charges

    Winsted man arrested by police in Westerly, RI on credit card

    RI Police Digest: Man found shot in Union Avenue garage dies

    Police to crack down on DUI statewide

    Archambault says Rhode Island is “at the top of the country for

    Mission of Rhode Island task force is to improve eyewitness reports

    Convicted RI killer paroled to Florida

    McKenna envisions wider focus for AG

    Physicians Risk Lawsuits, Prison for Using Unapproved IUDs

    Teens take police on high-speed car chase before fleeing into the

    Victims’ fund gets infusion of cash

    New North Providence Corruption Indictment Expands Charges

    Winsted man arrested by police in Westerly, RI on credit card RI medical marijuana patient arrested in drug case – ABC6

    Police to crack down on DUI statewide

    Archambault says Rhode Island is “at the top of the country for

    DCYF chief unhurt after car stolen at knifepoint‎

    RI medical marijuana patient arrested in drug case – ABC6

    ‘Survivor’ Hatch behind bars for TV interviews – TODAY People

    Woman Who Hired Alleged Child Porn Suspect Shocked

    RI Police Digest: 2 Cranston men face narcotics charges

    ‎3 ex-RI council members to be arraigned next week

    Robert Ciresi once loomed large in North Providence politics

    Barrington Teen Slapped With Criminal Charges For Sexting | WPRI.com

    Woman Who Hired Alleged Child Porn Suspect Shocked

    3 ex-RI council members to be arraigned next week

    Robert Ciresi once loomed large in North Providence politics

    Lawyer, developer indicted in North Providence bribery scandal

    Legal Notice per RI Rules of Professional Responsibility:

    The Rhode Island Supreme Court licenses all lawyers and attorneys in the general practice of law, but does not license or certify any lawyer/ attorney as an expert or specialist in any field of practice.